MOM

She’s a hard worker.┬áThere was a time when my mom had worked three different jobs. As I think back on it, I never heard my mom say she was tired. She didn’t miss soccer games or parent teacher conferences.

As a woman, I think my mom’s attitude is largely what made me see my worth to the world. I never heard her utter “that’s a man’s job,” most likely because she had already done it! She has never been afraid to roll up her sleeves to get the job done.

She taught me how to cut the grass and the difference between a flat-head and Phillips head screwdriver while simultaneously showing me how to make the perfect gravy (the secret is a nice creamy roux).

The first thing she asks me when I visit is if I am hungry. Even when I say no she insists on “whipping something up.” She knows that Chicken Dumpling Soup is the key to my heart.

Because of her, I stick to my the commitments and try my best to follow the GoldenRule. She was tough, but always made sure to tell me she loved me at least 10 times a day. Even now, she says it three times before ending a phone call.

I can’t say that it was always easy because believe me, we have had our differences. Yet no matter the argument, I know my mom will always be there for me. Sometimes she’s even there to tell me when I am wrong. That’s invaluable.

And someday, I hope to be half the mother that she is. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.

Love,

Doodle Bug

Leave a Reply

